50-State Surveys and Statutory Compilations

If you need to research a particular issue as treated by multiple state statutes there are several useful tools that may save you a lot of work. Just be aware that these may only address selected narrow topics and that they may not be current. Be sure to locate the date of the survey or latest revisions.

National Conference of State Legislatures

http://www.ncsl.org Search for "50 state" to see what topics have been researched.

Click on the Issues & Research tab.
NCSL provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on state issues.

Movement Advancement Project - tracks proposed laws relating to voting and lgbtq+ issues.

Class Actions: The Laws of 50 States by Thomas Dickerson
Only available to Central Ohio attorneys with a Franklin County Law Library card, from our website at https://lawlibrary.franklincountyohio.gov/ as an ebook.
Damages: A State by State Survey by ABA, Commercial Transportation Litigation Committee
Call Number: KF 1250 .D33
Publication Date: 2014

40 States Have Adopted Ethical Duty of Technology Competence for Attorneys
Robert Ambrogi, last visited 5/26/23
50-State Comparison Judicial Expungement, Sealing, and Set-aside
by Margaret Love of the NACDL Restoration of Rights Resource Project, April 2017.
50-State Criminal Justice Debt Reform Builder
Harvard Law School compilation of federal and state laws on the consequences of fees and fines in justice system. Last visited 5/23/23
2021 Minimum Wage Increases Set to Take Effect
Wage and Hour Defense Blog
Animal Law & History Web Center
from Michigan State University College of Law, last visited 5/23/23
Battery Recycling Laws by State
Call2Recycle, last visited 5/23/23.
Campaign Yard Sign Laws: State-by-State
Do Political Signs Work? Running an Effective, Legal Sign Campaign from Signs.com 8/13/14
CFI's Historical Database of State Campaign Finance Laws.
The Campaign Finance Institute's Historical Database of State Campaign Finance Laws covers all of the states' campaign finance laws every two years since 1996.
Cities, States Resist — and Assist — Immigration Crackdown in New Ways
Stateline 8/3/18 Includes map of "sanctuary" state laws.
COMPUTER CRIME STATUTES
National Conference of State Legislatures, last updated 5/4/22
CONSUMER PROTECTION IN THE STATES A 50-STATE EVALUATION OF UNFAIR AND DECEPTIVE PRACTICES LAWS
National Consumer Law Center 2018
Crop Insurance in my State
Compiled by National Crop Insurance Services, last visited 5/23/23.
Data Breach Notification Laws by State
ITGovernance USA.com, last updated July 2018.
Database of State Incentives for Renewables & Efficiency®
North Carolina Clean Energy Technology Center, last visited 5/23/23
Domestic Violence/Domestic Abuse Definitions and Relationships
National Conference of State Legislators 6/13/2019
Dyslegia: A Legislative Information Site New US & State Laws about Dyslexia and Reading Education
Updated 5/20/23
Georgetown Law's Institute for Constitutional Advocacy and Protection has created fact sheets for all 50 states explaining the laws barring unauthorized private militia groups and what to do if groups of armed individuals are near a polling place or voter
Last visited 5/26/23
Interstate Compact for Education
Establishes a commission to serve as an information center on educational matters and to provide a forum for the development of educational policy. Compact eligibility is nationwide in scope. Website last updated in 2019.
Ohio's law is at Oh. Revised Code Secs. 3301.48 and 3301.49.
Is Police Misconduct a Secret in your State?
Wnyc.org, last visited 5/26/23
Key Aspects of State Foreclosure Law: 50-State Chart
Nolo Legal Encyclopedia, last visited 5/26/23
LawAtlas.org
Legal mapping of state laws on various public health topics. Last visited 5/26/23
Legal Innovation Regulatory Survey
ABA, last visited 5/26/23
LSC Eviction Laws Database
Legal Services Corporation survey of state eviction laws, laws enacted as of 1/1/21
Mandatory Reporters of Child Abuse and Neglect
ChildWelfare.gov 4/19
Mental Health Benefits: State Laws Mandating or Regulating
National Conference of State Legislatures 12/30/2015
Mental Health Provisions in State Bar Exams
From the ABA, last updated in 2020
A nationwide state lien law and prompt payment guide for owners, contractors and subcontractors.
Husch, Blackwell, last visited 5/26/13
National Center for Interstate Compacts
2019
National Coalition for a Civil Right to Counsel
Tracks legislation on the topic an indigent person's right to an attorney in a civil case. Last visited 5/23/23
National Overview of Statutes of Limitation (SOLs) for Child Sex Abuse 2021
Child USA The National Think Tank for Child Protection
New Election-Related State Crimes since 2020
States Newsroom, last visited 5/23/23
NIL Legislation Tracker
Last visited 12/8/23
No Fresh Start in 2021: Will States Let Debt Collectors Push Families Into Poverty As Pandemic Protections Expire?
National Consumer Law Center
New State Laws Hamstring Public Health Officials
Pew Trusts 7/29/21
Nonbinary? Intersex? 11 U.S. states issuing third gender IDs
Thomson Reuters Foundation 2/7/19
The Open Government Guide is a complete compendium of information on every state’s open records and open meetings laws.
Reporters' Committee for Freedom of the Press. Last visited 5/23/23
Prescription for secrecy Is your doctor banned from practicing in other states? State licensing system keeps patients in the dark
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel 2/28/18, includes an interactive of what information is published by medical licensing boards in all 50 states.
Progress in Advancing Me Too Workplace Reforms in #20Statesby2020
National Women's Law Center 09/20
Prohibiting Private Armies at Public Rallies : A Catalog of State Constitutional and Statutory Provisions
Georgetown Law's Institute for Constitutional Advocacy and Protection Sept. 2020
Salary history bans A running list of states and localities that have outlawed pay history questions
HR Dive, updated 4/20/23
Second Chance Reforms in 2017 Roundup of new expungement and restoration laws
Collateral Consequences Resource Center 12/2017
Secrecy Sleeves and the “Naked Ballot”
Lawfare 10/15/20
Security Breach Notification Laws
NCSL 1/17/22
Stand Your Ground (35 States) vs. Duty to Retreat (15 States)
Volokh Conspiracy 12/21/20
State-By-State Analysis of Dependency Statutes and Their Inclusion of Disability
National Council on Disability, (adapted from Elizabeth Lightfoot, Katharine Hill, and Traci LaLiberte, “The Inclusion of Disability as a Condition for Termination of Parental Rights,” Child Abuse and Neglect 34 (2010): 927-934.)
State-By-State Athlete Agent Registration Forms And Laws
Sports Agent Blog, updated March 5, 2022
State Firearm Law Navigator
Rand Corp.9/17/20
State Fireworks Control Laws
From American Pyrotechnics Association. Last visited 5/23/23.
State Definitions of the Practice of Law
From the ABA
State Felon Voting Laws
ProCon.org, last updated 5/1/23
State Government Publications and Copyright
Harvard Library State Copyright Resource Center 10/21/19
State Medical Record Laws: Minimum Medical Record Retention Periods for Records Held by Medical Doctors and Hospitals
From Healthit.gov, 2008.
States with Legal Physician-Assisted Suicide
ProCon.org, last updated 12/19/22
Statewide Prescription Drug Database | 2015-Present
Use this state legislative database to learn about and analyze what states are considering and enacting in current topic areas of prescription drugs. Updated 5/8/23
Status of Abortion Laws, State by State
Ms. Magazine, last updated 4/20/23
Statutes of Limitations Chart for all 50 States
Nolo Press, last updated 10/6//21
Surrogacy Laws by State
Gift of Life Surrogacy, last visited 5/26/23
Survey of law enforcement access to sealed non-conviction records
Collateral Consequences Resource Center 6/26/19
Table of State Assistance Animal Laws
Michigan State University, updated 2023
Tenants and Foreclosure
National Housing Law Project 1/23/15, updates from 2018.
Tracing Home Address Exemptions in State FOI Laws
Sept. 2019 article in The Journal of Civic Information by Jodie Gill.
US Protest Law Tracker
International Center for Not-for-Profit-Law, last updated 5/1/23
When and how to vote in all 50 states
Axios 8/13/20
WHERE, AND HOW, YOU CAN GET AN ORIGINAL BIRTH CERTIFICATE (ASSUMING YOU CAN GET ONE AT ALL)
Adoptee Rights Law Center, updated 5/26/23
Where Can You Drop Off Your Ballot? A 50 State Analysis
Lawfare 11/1/20
Who Can Collect and Return an Absentee Ballot Other Than the Voter
NCSL 5/17/22

50-State Surveys of Laws & Regulations: Already Compiled 50-State Surveys

50-State Surveys and Statutory Compilations

National Conference of State Legislatures