Skip to main content

Welcome to the Franklin County Law Library: Home

Welcome to the Franklin County Law Library

We are dedicated to providing legal resources to all citizens in central Ohio. Visit our beautiful library in downtown Columbus to find out how we can assist you.

Franklin County Law Library Information

369 South High St., 10th floor
Columbus, Ohio 43215

Phone: (614) 525-4971
Fax: (614) 525-4978

lawlibrary.franklincountyohio.gov

FCLL-Info@franklincountyohio.gov

Hours of Operation
Mon-Fri 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Sat & Sun Closed

Franklin County Law Library Behavior Guidelines

Patrons must be respectful of the rights of other patrons and those not adhering to the following library guidelines will forfeit all library privileges:

  • Children must be accompanied by an adult at all times.
  • Patrons should be aware of their volume level while in the library. This includes when talking to another patron, talking on a cell phone, watching or listening to media in the computer labs, etc.
  • Patrons should refrain from using profane, obscene, abusive, and racially or ethnically offensive language.
  • Patrons should be respectful of other patrons and library staff. Patrons who are intimidating, hostile, violent, or offensive will be asked to leave the library.
  • Patrons may not damage, vandalize or steal any property belonging to the law library.
  • Patrons may not gamble, panhandle or solicit money for any personal profit while in the law library.
  • Patrons must be dressed and groomed properly. Shoes and shirts are required when using the library.
  • Anyone wishing to post or distribute materials must submit the material for review and approval.
  • Patrons may not be under the influence, possess drugs or alcohol, or attempt to sell drugs or alcohol.
  • Only certified service animals may be brought into the law library.
  • Patrons should refrain from sleeping, smoking, or chewing tobacco in the law library.
  • Patrons may not use the law library as a personal office.

Franklin County Law Library Access

Ohio Revised Code 307.51 established a county law library which shall not charge any fee for any service provided to any member of the general assembly or to any officer or employee of a county, municipal, or township government or court located within that county when the officer or employee is acting within the scope of the officer's or employee's employment and shall have a policy regarding public use.

The law library has a duty to avoid engaging in the unauthorized practice of law and/or the recommendation of attorney-client relationships. Therefore, the law library recommends that anyone taking legal action, or considering whether or not such legal action is appropriate, consult with an attorney. The law library will not provide interpretation of any legal material or give any legal advice. The law library will not provide assistance with personal technological devices including phones, tablets, laptops, or storage devices.

County and State Employees

The law library shall provide legal research, reference, and library services at no cost to the county and to the municipal corporations, townships, and courts within the county, to any member of the general assembly or to any officer or employee of a county, municipal, or township government or court located within that county when the officer or employee is acting within the scope of the officer's or employee's employment.

Authorized Legal Practitioners

The law library shall provide legal research, reference, and library services to those who are licensed to practice law in the State of Ohio and any paralegal or secretary of an attorney licensed to practice law in the State of Ohio. Fees for document delivery may be charged.

Public Libraries

The law library shall provide legal research, reference and library services to any reference librarian at one of the seven public library systems in Franklin County if they are placing the call on behalf of one of their patrons. Fees for document delivery may be charged.

General Public

The law library shall provide legal research, reference and library services to citizens of the State of Ohio. Fees for document delivery may be charged.

Franklin County Law Library Resources

The Franklin County Law Library serves employees of Franklin County, members of the legal community as well as the general public. We have many resources available to our users.

Borrowing Privileges

Library cards are available to attorneys in good standing with the Supreme Court of Ohio who practice law in Delaware, Fairfield, Franklin, Licking, Madison, Pickaway or Union Counties.

Library cards are required to check out materials. Books and digital materials are checked out for 14 days with a maximum of 3 renewals. Fines for books and digital materials are 25¢ per day. The replacement costs for any lost item is $50. Any patron with $50 or more in fines or 5 overdue items on their record loses borrowing privileges.

Book Sales

The law library hosts an on-going used book sale. Books for this sale are superseded copies of library materials. Donated books that are deemed of no value to the library's collections may also be placed in the book sale. All book sale items are cleared of any property stamps and kept on the book sale shelf for six month. At the end of six months they are discarded in accordance to the disposal resolution approved by the county commissioners.

Conference Room

The law library conference room is reserved for law library board and staff, attorneys and county employees on official business. Reservations are recommended.

Copying

Copies of law library material by copier or from online source printouts are free to Franklin County Departments and elected officials and their staffs as long as such copies are made in pursuance of their official duties. Other copies or online source printouts are 10¢ per page. Patrons must purchase a copy card to utilize copy machines and printers in the two computer labs. Items scanned to flash drives are free.

Courtroom Aids

The law library has various courtroom aids available to patrons with a library card. Among the large collection of aids are TVs & VCRs, overhead projectors and screens, easels, and anatomical models and charts. Reservations are recommended.

Fax Machine

Fax machine service is provided at the law library. The library will fax or receive any document. Incoming faxes are 10¢ per page. Outgoing faxes are 25¢ per page for local or toll free calls and $1.00 per page for long distance calls. The law library does have cover sheets for faxes.

Legal Research

Reference librarians may perform legal research for users based upon specific search parameters given by the patron. Customary document delivery fees of 10¢ per page for printing and 25¢ per page for local faxes and $1.00 per page for long distance faxes will be assessed. Documents printed out must be picked up in person by the requesting party. Documents emailed or saved to a flash drive will not incur any document delivery fees.

Library Collection

The law library has over 19,000 volumes in its print collection. Most of those items can be checked out by library card holders. Books in the Reserve or Historical collection are limited to in house use only. Library staff can assist in finding a circulating copy of these titles either in the law library or at another Ohio library.

Notary Public

Notary services are offered when designated staff is available. Members of the public will be charged $1.50 for every three (3) documents. Attorneys in good standing with the Supreme Court of Ohio will not be charged for notary.

Public Computers and Internet

Use of the law library's public computers and internet is reserved for legal research and other official business. Priority in the use of these computers is given to attorneys in good standing with the Supreme Court of Ohio and other county employees on official business. There is no time limit on the computers but if patrons are waiting, those who have been on the computers the longest may be asked to log off.

The law library provides free wireless access. Patrons may bring in their own electronic devices to connect; however, access to paid legal databases will not be available.

Library staff will assist patrons is using library technology, but will not assist patrons in the use of their personal technological devices including phones, tablets, laptops, or storage devices.

Patrons using the internet for any illegal purpose will be asked to leave the library. Individual privacy is protected when using law library technology, but computers may be monitored to ensure compliance with library policy.

Guide Author

Angela Baldree