Skip to main content

Ohio Dissolution of Marriage Law: Dissolution of Marriage Time Line

Dissolution of Marriage Time Line in Franklin County Domestic Court

Step Forms Needed Law References

To establish jurisdiction, one of the spouses must have lived in Ohio for at least six months before filing. In addition, one of the spouses must have lived in Franklin County for 90 days prior to filing.

 

Ohio Driver’s License or ID for Ohio residency. 

Oh. Rev. Code Sec. 3105.62

 

Oh. Civ. Rule 3(B)(9)

Filing:

A couple wanting to end their marriage, and agreeing on all issues, may jointly file a Petition for Dissolution of Marriage. If an attorney represents the party, the attorney is required to e-file the documents. However, if the parties choose to file independent of an attorney, they may file their documents in paper format, with the Petition for Dissolution on top of each set of copies.

The documents required are listed in the next column.

Petition for Dissolution, Separation Agreement, Waiver of Service of Summons

Confidential Disclosure of Personal Identifiers

Required Notice of Previously Filed Case/ Certificate of Assignment

Affidavit of Income (one per party)

Affidavit of Property (one per party) – must match Separation Agreement

Waiver of Legal Representation (if filing without an attorney)

 

If there are minor children, also file:

Health Insurance Affidavit

Parenting Proceeding Affidavit

Child Support Guidelines (both parties must sign worksheet)

Shared Parenting Plan (if applicable)

Oh. Rev. Code Sec. 3105.63

 

Local Rule 10:

All petitions for dissolution shall be filed in triplicate if there are minor children born during the marriage or if the petition requests establishment of the father and child relationship; and in duplicate if there are no minor children born during the marriage and the petition does not request establishment of the father and child relationship.

 

Local Rule 21

Oh. Rev. Code Sec. 3109.04

 

Attend Parenting Seminar before Final Hearing  Parenting Seminar Brochure Local Rule 26

Final Hearing:

Must occur between 30 and 90 days from the filing of the Petition. The Dissolution is normally finalized the day of the hearing.

Both parties must attend the hearing. The parties must have been living separate and apart for 30 days prior to the hearing.

Decree of Dissolution (E-file as “Filing Submitted to Judge” in Word format.

If there are minor children, also file:

Decree of Shared Parenting in Word format (if Plan was filed with Petition)

Withholding Forms (if child support ordered)

Deviation Findings (if child support deviated)

Oh. Rev. Code Sec. 3105.64