Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ohio Landlord/Tenant Law: Ohio Laws

Ohio Revised Code on Evictions

Below are the chapters of the Ohio Revised Code dealing with evictions.

Some specific code sections related to evictions include, but are not limited to:

Ohio Revised Code - Notice Sections

Depending on the reason for the eviction, the Ohio eviction notice may be 3-days or 30-days.

3-Day Notice
For nonpayment of rent or in cases where the landlord has knowledge of a search warrant executed against the tenant or a person living on the property for illegal drug activity, the notice is 3-days. The notice must advise the tenants that they are being asked to leave or that an eviction action will be brought against them. They are also advised to seek legal assistance if they have any questions or concerns.

30-Days Notice
For matters concerning a breach or violation of a material provision in the written lease, the Ohio eviction notice is 30-days. This also applies to month-to-month tenancies where a full rental month’s notice is required.

These notices may be served personally on the tenant or given to someone residing there, or it may be posted on the unit door or left in a conspicuous location.

Franklin County Municipal Court Local Rules

City Ordinances