Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Managing a Successful Law Office: Apps for Productivity

Mobile Apps for Productivity

Application Description of Application and Cost
1Password by Agilebits. Remembers all your passwords across multiple devices. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.  You can also download FREE 1Password browser extensions from Agilebits. Desktop version of 1Password can be subscribed to here.

With the Adobe Reader app, users can easily read and share PDF documents, includng PDF portfolios, password-protected PDFs, and Adobe LiveCycle rights-managed files, across platforms and devices. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store. For Android owners, the Adobe Reader may be downloaded for FREE from Google Play.

Adobe Scan is a scanner app for mobile devices that includes optical character recognition (OCR), so you can edit documents after you scan them. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the  iTunes App Store. For Android users, the app may be downloaded for FREE from Google Play.
aWallet stores passwords, email, and social media accounts, credit card details, and other data.Information is encrypted and retrieveable via one mast password. The free version doesn't access the internet, so data is available offline and is not easily hackable. It is available only for Android users at Google Play .

Box is a great app that allows you to store, view, edit, share, and collaborate on files in a variety of formats from your device. Supported file types include Word, Excel, PowerPoint, PDFs, images, audio, videos, and Box Web documents. The app is FREE and provides 10 GB storage capacity. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for use on all iOS devices and from Google Play for Android devices.

CardStar is a FREE app compatible with iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad, Blackberry, and Android devices that lets you store and retrieve loyalty, reward, and club membership cards, where they can be scanned directly from your screen at most merchants' stores, such as CVS, Best Buy, and PetSmart. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for use on the iPhone or iPad.
Dictionary and Thesaurus is a FREE mobile dictionary and thesaurus app that is available for download in the iTunes App Store, and Google Play. The app includes nearly 1,000,000 words and definitions and 90,000 synonyms and antonyms. No Internet connection is needed. The app also features audio pronunciations, similarly spelled words and Dictionary.com’s popular Word of the Day.
Dropbox is a great productivity app, which serves as a cloud-based, shareable virtual file system. The app is FREE and allows you to view documents, spreadsheets, presentations, videos, and photos, export files to other iPhone, iPad, or Android apps, and more. Users receive 2 GB of free storage. The app requires a Dropbox account to function, but if you do not have an account, the app will allow you to create one for free. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for use on iPhone and iPad devices, and from Google Play for use on Android devices.
eDepoze is an app optimized for the iPad that provides convenient access to digitized deposition exhibits and other documents through a secure, cloud-based software system. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.
EIE Legal Messaging is and encrypted texting and file sharing app for lawyers. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store or the Google Play Store.
Evernote is an award-winning app that lets you jot down notes, snapshots, and recordings, on everything from lectures, meetings, and business cards. Notes and reminders are easily searchable on the device or your desktop when the device is synchronized to the desktop. The app supports most devices and is available for download for FREE in the iTunes App Store, or Google Play.
Firefox Home is Mozilla's official Firefox app for Droid devices. The app provides you with access to their Firefox history, bookmarks, and open tabs as stored on your desktop computer. The app is FREE and is available for download from Google Play.
Grammarly is a website and browser extension for grammar checking. It catches many errors that Microsoft Word does not. It is available at the Grammarly website.
Haiku Deck is an app that enables you to create stunning presentations using your iPad. The app has been featured in iTunes' "New and Noteworthy" and "What's Hot" lists, and reviewed favorably by the Wall Street Journal, Lifehacker, and even Creative Commons Founder and law professor Lawrence Lessig. Background images for your presentations can be created using millions of free, high-quality Creative Commons-licensed photos, or by importing images from your own photo stream using your device, Flickr, Picasa, Instagram, or Facebook. A number of image filters are also available, as are a variety of fonts. In addition, presentations created using Haiku Deck may be shared using e-mail, Twitter, or Facebook, or via diisplay with an iPad, projector, or any web browser. Presentations may also be exported in PPT or PDF formats. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.
iAnnotate PDF is a mobile app that lets you read and annotate PDFs with text notes, highlighting, stamps, bookmarks, and a variety of other markings. Other features include the ability to convert web pages, Word, and PowerPoint files to PDF, a customizable toolbars, VGA output, and copy-and-paste. The iOS app is currently available for $9.99 and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.

Keynote is Apple's take on presentations. There are tons of templates to choose from and almost everything is customizable exactly to your liking. It's easy to use? It syncs with iCloud which means any other iPhone, iPad, or Mac with Keynote installed can instantly access your presentations.If you're invested into the Apple ecosystem, Keynote is the most convenient option you're going to find. Keynote is available for free on new iPads. 

LastPass is a password manager available for FREE from the iTunes App Store. Premium version is available on a subscription basis from LastPass. Note that LastPass has been sued for a security breach. 
Legaler is an online videoconferencing app for lawyers. 

Web-based Mendeley, is a free reference manager and academic social network that helps individuals discover and organize their research and collaborate with others online.

 

The official Microsoft Outlook app designed for iPhone and iPad. Outlook is a free email app that helps you get more done from anywhere with one unified view of your email, calendar, contacts, and attachments. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the  iTunes App Store or or from Google Play for use on Android devices. 

Developed by Microsoft, the Microsoft Word for iPad app lets you read and edit Word documents on your iPad. UPDATE: On November 6, 2014, Microsoft announced that users are now able to read Office content without an Office 365 subscription. You can do some editing if your save your document to One Drive, Microsoft's cloud serve. Office 365 subscribers will, however, have access to editing features. The Microsoft Word for iPad app is FREE may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for iOS devices.

For a list of other Microsoft apps for iOS devices, please see https://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/microsoft-corporation/id298856275.

The MyPoint app allows your device to function as a remote control for PowerPoint presentations on Windows and Mac OS X. Features of the app include a slide browser, display of current slides, notes, and a preview of upcoming slides. The app is very handy for presentations in which the screen is behind the speaker! The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for use on the iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad. To use the app with your computer, a small application must also be installed on your computer, which is available on the developer Didonai's website.
Apple named Notability as one of the best-selling note-taking apps in recent years. Among the helpful features of this productivity app: ability to create handwritten, typewritten, or audio recorded notes, ability to annotate PDFs, automatic backup in the cloud, and the ability to insert media in notes. Works best if you have a Gmail account. The app is free, with in app purchases and available from the iTunes App Store.
Pages is a word processor designed exclusively for the iPad and iPhone, with support for Multi-Touch gestures and Smart Zoom. Get a quick start by using one of over 60 Apple-designed templates. Or use a blank document and easily add text, images, shapes, and more with a few taps. Then format using beautiful preset styles and fonts. With iCloud built in, your documents are kept up to date across all your devices. You can instantly share a document using just a link, giving others the latest version and the ability to edit it directly from www.icloud.com using a Mac or PC browser. Pages is available for free on new iPads.
 
The Parallels Access app is a tool for Mac owners that allows you to access your desktop Mac remotely from your iPad, iPhone, or iPod Touch. To use the app, Parallels Desktop for Mac must be installed on the desktop Mac as well. Although the app is free, full functionality of the app after an initial trial requires a subscription. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.

PDF Expert 5 by Readdle is a must-have app for anyone who reads, annotates or edits PDF documents on iPad or iPhone. It allows you to mark up documents with highlights and handwriting, insert text and stamps, sign and merge PDFs. Moreover, PDF Expert 5 is the best choice for filling out PDF forms right on your iPad and iPhone. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for FREE.

 

PDF Reader Pro Edition is an excellent mobile PDF reader created by iTech Development Systems. The app is optimized for use on iPad devices and allows you to transfer your PDF files to your device from your computer or directly from any websiteThe iPad version of the app is $1.99 and also may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.

Google's Reading Mode App helps visually impaired people read long-form content. Available for free on the Google Play Store. 
Readdle Documents is another option for an app that enables document viewing and file managing. Readdle allows viewing of PDF, Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and iWork files. The app also lets you open attachments directly from e-mail and share files with others. The app is free and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store.
The RDM+ Remote Desktop app allows you to access Mac OS or Windows computers and to run any desktop applications remotely through NAT and Firewall. The app must also be installed on the desktop to be remotely accessed. The app is available for purchase for $4.99 from the Amazon App Store.
The SignNow app, selected by InformationWeek as one of the top 12 apps of 2012, allows you to sign and fill PDF, rich text, and Word documents directly on your device. Other features include the ability to email signed documents, integration with Dropbox or your email inbox, encryption, and printing with AirPrint-enabled printers. The app may be downloaded for FREE from the iTunes App Store for iOS devices, and from Google Play for Droid devices. The free download includes use for up to five documents per month. To enable use for more than five documents, subscriptions are available.
The Skype app lets you call and instant message anyone else on Skype for free, and call landlines, mobiles, and send SMS anywhere in the world at great rates. The app is FREE and requires a WiFi connection. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store, Google Play, or from the Skype website.
WorkFlowy is a tool for taking notes and making lists. Simple to use, but incredibly powerful, WorkFlowy can help you manage all the information in your life. Available for download from the iTunes App Store, also a web-based cloud application at WorkFlowy.com.
 
Zoom Meetings is a proprietary videotelephony software program developed by Zoom Video Communications. The free plan allows up to 100 concurrent participants, with a 40-minute time restriction. Users have the option to upgrade by subscribing to a paid plan. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store or from Google Play.