Skip to Main Content

Medicaid Law: Federal and Ohio: Ohio Laws


Ohio accepted the federal Medicaid expansion money provided under the Affordable Care Act.

State Medicaid & CHIP Eligibility1 as of June 1, 2016
State Children Pregnant Women Adults (Medicaid)
Medicaid Ages 0-12 Medicaid Ages 1-52 Medicaid Ages 6-182 Separate CHIP3 Medicaid CHIP4 Parent/CareTaker5 Expansion to Adults
Ohio 206% 206% 206% N/A 200% N/A 90% 133%

1. This table reflects the principal but not all MAGI coverage groups. All income standards are expressed as a percentage of the federal poverty level (FPL). 


Supplemental Security Income Recipients are covered if they are part of a family that makes up to 64% of the federal poverty level. 

As of August 1, 2016, As of August 2016, Ohio uses section 1634 of the Social Security Act (codified at 42 USC 1383c) to determine eligibility for medicaid. These means that individuals can no longer "spend down" their income to become eligible. Please see the Estate Planning page of this guide for more information.

Ohio has home based care waivers, but no Sec. 1115 Demonstration Project waivers.

Books at the Franklin County Law Library

Case law

Ohio Revised Code

Ohio Department of Job & Family Services Hearing and Administrative Appeal Decisions


Waivers are the third prong of the federal Medicaid program. They allow states to waive the income qualification requirements for certain children and adults, so that they can live at home instead of being institutionalized.


Free Legal Advice in Franklin County