| Application | Description of Application and Cost |
 |
AppAdvice is a great app that helps iPhone and iPad owners keep up to date on new apps, special offers for discounted and free apps, and news about iDevices. The app is FREE from the iTunes App Store. |
 |
The AroundMe app is a mobile app that helps you find places near to where you are, such as gas stations, ATM machines, restaurants, and retail stores. For every listing, you can choose to see its location on a map, view directions, add the location to your contact list, and to email information to a friend. The app is FREE and is optimized for use on iPhone devices. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for use on iPhone and related devices, and from Google Play for use on Android devices. |
 |
The Amazon Kindle app is optimized for the iPhone and iPad smartphones to provide you with the ability to read Kindle books on your device. The app is FREE, although of course the Kindle books are not. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store. The Amazon Kindle app is also available for free for owners of Android devices. The app may be downloaded from Google Play and directly from Amazon. |
 |
The BookBargain app is a great app that helps you locate the best prices on books sold on the Internet. The app is FREE and is available for download from Amazon. |
 |
The Flipboard app is described as the "world's first social magazine." The app integrates with your social media accounts and allows you to flip through photos, videos, and links shared by friends in your networks as if in a digital magazine. The app is FREE and currently is optimized for use on the iPad. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store. |
 |
The Groupon mobile app provides you with a great deal each day on fun things to do in cities throughout the United States. Upon launch, the app provides you with a deal's barcode screen, which can be redeemed by showing the screen to the relevant merchant associated with the deal. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for use on the iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad, or from Google Play for use on Android devices. |
 |
HootSuite is an excellent app that allows you to manage multiple social network accounts from a single dashboard. The app allows you to upload photos, view usage statistics, and post news across multiple accounts at once. HootSuite is a great reputation monitoring tool as well. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for use on iDevices and from Google Play or HootSuite website for Droid devices. |
 |
Instagram that let you share your images with others. Owned by Facebook. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store and Google Play. Registration with Instagram is required to use the app. |
 |
Lyft is a ride sharing app, available on the Apple app store and Google Play |
  |
The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has an app that lets users see whether Medicare covers a specific medical item or service. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the Apple app store and the Google Play store. |
 |
My TSA is a FREE mobile app created by the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) that aims to provide passengers with answers to frequently asked questions regarding flight regulations. The app allows you to determine whether an item is allowed in your carry-on or checked baggage, provides information on ID requirements and liquid rules, provides tips for packing and dressing to speed through security, and real-time operating status information for U.S. airports from the Federal Aviation Administration. Users may access the app by pointing their browser to the following site: http://www.tsa.gov/mobile. |
 |
The Netflix mobile app allows Netflix subscribers to instantly watch television shows and movies streaming from Netflix. The app is part of subscribers' unlimited access to streaming content, and thus is FREE. The app may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for iOS devices and from Google Play for Droid devices. |
 |
With the OpenTable app, you can make free restaurant reservations at more than 13,000 restaurants in the United States, Canada, and the United Kingdom. App users can earn Dining Rewards Points redeemable for "Dining Cheques" good at any OpenTable restaurant as well. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store and Google Play. |
 |
Many people are already familiar with the web-based version of Pandora Radio, which lets you stream music created in your own personalized radio lists. It's also available as a FREE mobile app on most devices. The Pandora app may be downloaded for the iPhone and iPad from the iTunes App Store, and for Droid devices from Google Play. |
 |
The SoundHound app is described as the "world's fastest music recognition" app. SoundHound will identify music playing from speakers within four seconds, can identify songs from humming or singing, and lets you search artists or song titles by voice. The FREE version of SoundHound provides five free song recognitions, unlimited voice and text searches, unlimited lyrics, and rich iPod integration. The FREE version of SoundHound may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store for use on iPhone and iPad devices, and from Google Play for use on Android devices. A premium version of SoundHound, which provides unlimited song recognitions, is available for purchase as well for $6.99 from the iTunes App Store. |
 |
The Uber app allows you summon a car ride. The app may be downloaded for FREE from the iTunes App Store for use on iPhone, Apple Watch, and iPad devices and from Google Play for Android devices. |
 |
The Urbanspoon app is a fun app that will help you find a place to eat. Urbanspoon shows ratings and reviews from newspapers, bloggers, and fellow diners. The app is FREE and may be downloaded from the iTunes App Store and Google Play. |
 |
The Weird Laws app is just that: an application that features strange laws in the United States, such as: "In Miami, it is illegal for a man to wear any kind of strapless gown." Citations aren't provided for the "weird laws," however, so it's difficult to confirm the accuracy of the laws featured in the app. Still, might make for interesting conversation! The Weird Laws app is available for download for FREE in the iTunes App Store. |
 |
White Noise Lite is music to the ears of the stressed...literally! The FREE app features loops of white noise, while the upgraded versions (White Noise, White Noise Life, and White Noise Storm, all available for $1.99 to $2.99 per app) feature ambient loops of thunderstorms, waves on a beach, crickets, and so forth, to aid in relaxation. Timer options allow fading audio at set intervals when the app is used to assist the user in falling asleep. The app has been recommended by CNET, PC World, and MSNBC. The Lite version of the app is available for FREE for download from the iTunes App Store or Google Play. |
 |
The Wikipedia Mobile app is the official mobile application for Wikipedia. The app provides access to the content of Wikipedia and includes maps and bookmarks. The app is FREE and is available for download from the iTunes App Store. |
 |
The Yelp app is a great app that will help you find restaurants, retail stores, and entertainment spots in the U.S. Locations are accompanied by reviews from Yelp community members. The app is FREE and is available for download in the iTunes App Store and Google Play. |
 |
The Zinio Magazine Newsstand & Reader is a reader that provides an attractive way to read popular magazines on your device. Zinio delivers full-color images in high definition for thousands of magazines, such as Rolling Stone, BusinessWeek, The Economist, Dwell, Harper’s Bazaar, Macworld, National Geographic, and more. When you create an account with Zinio, you also get the ability to purchase subscriptions of magazines to be delivered to your device. The app is FREE and may downloaded from the iTunes App Store for use on iOS devices and from Google Play for Droid devices. |