Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ohio Foreclosure Law: Federal Laws

In 2010, the federal government passed the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act, which gave the CFPB the authority to create new mortgage servicing rules. The CFPB’s final mortgage servicing rules were implemented under the Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (RESPA), also known as Regulation X, and the Truth in Lending Act (TILA) known as Regulation Z. These rules, which went into effect on January 10, 2014, created established national mortgage servicing standards and imposed new requirements on lenders and servicers when it comes to foreclosures.

Agency Guidance