Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
U.S. Supreme Court cases
Carpenter v. Murphy
Issue: Whether the 1866 territorial boundaries of the Creek Nation within the former Indian Territory of eastern Oklahoma constitute an “Indian reservation” today under 18 U.S.C. § 1151(a).
The US Supreme Court will decide the case before July 2019.
Herrera v. Wyoming
Issue: Whether Wyoming's admission to the Union or the establishment of the Bighorn National Forest abrogated the Crow Tribe of Indians’ 1868 federal treaty right to hunt on the “unoccupied lands of the United States", thereby permitting the present-day criminal conviction of a Crow member who engaged in subsistence hunting for his family.
Decision by July 2019
American State Papers : Indian Affairs
The two Indian Affairs volumes of American State Papers contain documents relating to U.S. Indian affairs from 1789 to 1827. Part of the Library of Congress’s American Memory Project.
A Compilation of All the Treaties Between the United States and the Indian Tribes
Government Printing Office, 1873. Prepared at the direction of Congress, the treaties in this volume are arranged alphabetically by tribe. Available online through the Internet Archive.
Indian Treaties, and Laws and Regulations Relating to Indian Affairs
Compiled at the request of the Secretary of War, this volume has ratified treaties from 1778 to 1826. It is available online through Google Books.
The Indigenous Digital Archive
U.S. National Archives and the Museum of Indian Arts and Culture (MIAC) in Santa Fe have digitized 374 ratified Indian treaties from the archives' holdings,
Kappler's Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
Available as part of the Oklahoma State University Library's digital collection.
The Statutes at Large of the Provisional Government of the Confederate States of America
Includes treaties concluded by the confederate states with Indian tribes. Available at Academic Affairs Library University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill as part of the Documenting the American South project.
Treaties Between the United States and Native Americans
from the Yale Law School Avalon Project, Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
Treaties Between the United States of America and the Several Indian Tribes
Compiled by direction of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs, this volume contains ratified treaties from 1778 to 1837. Available online at Google Books.
U.S. Statutes at Large
Ratified Indian treaties were published in the Statutes at Large. Volume 7 of the Statutes at Large, published in 1846, has Indian treaties from 1778 to 1842, printed in chronological order. Thereafter, Indian treaties are intermingled with treaties with foreign nations. Part of the Library of Congress’s American Memory Project.
Indian Treaties: A Bibliography
The information on this page is partly based on this excellent article in Law Library Journal by Beth DiFelice. Click on the link above to read the entire article.