Free Websites for Legal Research: Reference

Cornell Legal Information Institute

This database allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States.

from the Federal Judicial Center.

Search engine that focuses on the websites of US law firms.

Find a Personal Injury Lawyer or Law Firm by State.

Match-making attorney website. Specializes in bankruptcy and immigration law.

Useful to check if there has been any disciplinary action against an attorney.

You already know that the Wayback Machine crawls the web and saves it all, down to the last kitten photo. There’s more to it, though—the site can also be used to save your own material, as it can archive any web page or PDF on demand (see “Save Page Now” on the bottom right of the web page).

International, Foreign and Comparative Law Research Guides from NYU Law School

From HG.org

The AALL Advancing Access to Justice Special Committee (2021-2022) has compiled information for law librarians, legal information professionals, and members of the public to easily locate free online primary legal materials.

Directory of Ohio County Law Libraries

from the Law Schools Admissions Council

from US Courts.gov

by Gerald Hill, esq. and Kathleen Hill

Wex is a free legal dictionary and encyclopedia sponsored and hosted by the Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School. Wex entries are collaboratively created and edited by legal experts.

Poynter.org. Lots of links to datasets.

From the Dept. of Justice Library, discovered as a Public Records Request.

The site provides a searchable collection all official or quasi-official federal civil and criminal instructions and annotations, as well as an index of 20,000 legal terms, statutes, CFRs and Supreme Court cases referenced in jury instructions.

RIPS Law Librarian Blog 5/2/24